2013 Musings

Many bloggers have taken the time to reflect on their work of 2012 and set goals for themselves in the new year. I would love to be able to say that I will post more often this year, but that is not a realistic goal for me at this time. I would love to be able to say that I will post more responses to the interesting, thought-provoking blogs I do make time to read, but that is not something I am willing to commit to at this time either. With a full-time job, a full-time doctoral schedule (in which my writing will be gearing up in the coming months!) and with only 4 pounds left to reach my goal weight, I do not have a lot of free time and am unwilling to set goals that I know I will not work to achieve.2012-01-15 15.45.25

I do, however, want to acknowledge that blogging has been an interesting journey for me thus far. I do a lot of reflecting on my own, in my head, but blogging has forced me to put at least some of that 90-mile-an-hour thought process down into coherent thoughts to be shared with others. Even more important, I have taken the time to read more blogs, tweets, pins, and ideas from my PLN colleagues than I even knew existed a year ago. While I haven’t always shared my reflections on the topics, I have enjoyed reading the thoughts of others. The world of education has both expanded and shrunk this year for me. I have connected with educators near and far who are pushing their own professional learning and therefore mine, in ways I never dreamed possible. At the same time, I found many like-minded colleagues celebrating similar successes and struggles all across the world. Education is very similar for many people, which can be a good and a bad thing. Education is very slow to move forward with advances in many areas, technology being but one example.  However, in my personal job and in my connections with my PLN, I have reason to hope.

There are a lot of hard-working, dedicated, life-long learners out there who are working to make necessary changes to education. I have many colleagues who believe that all students can learn and have a right to a top-notch education. There are leaders serving in many different roles who take their work to serve teachers and students seriously. Knowing that, I am going to revise an idea I saw on Pinterest this week.  There was an idea floating around out there to start a happy jar- every day write down something good, positive, worth celebrating or remembering. At the end of 2013 you can open your jar and read and remember all of the happiness you experienced throughout the year.  This is a way to celebrate big and small moments and to see the positive in every day life.

I don’t plan to write something every day nor to put it in a jar. But I do plan to take time to see the positive in more situations. I plan to take time to reflect (via blog, twitter, Pinterest, or real life conversations!) about the good things I see happening in education. I think we all need to remember this. I don’t know of a single educator who gets up in the morning with the goal to hurt students or their colleagues. We are all in this together, and positively, together we can do more.

2012-02-22 16.57.24

About Amy's Reflections

Director of Educational Services in Southern CA, taking time to reflect on leadership and learning
This entry was posted in Reflection, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2013 Musings

  1. Lauren says:

    Well said! I like the jar idea, virtual or not!

  2. Carol says:

    I am in awe of your goals and very appreciative of your commitment to continuous learning and personal reflection. You are an amazing leader. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

