[Abecedary of Reflection] Quotes

Q: Quotes

I just said to a friend the other day, “I could sit and read quotes all day!” One way that I like to push my own thinking is to reflect about quotes I read from other leaders and learners.

There are only two ways of spreading light- to be the candle or mirror that reflects it.” ~Edith Wharton

I enjoy this quote because of the meaning of reflection via a mirror as well as via what we put out into the world for others to see. I think leaders need to be be both- sometimes the candle shining the light for others to find their way and sometimes the mirror highlighting the light of others.

Happiness depends upon ourselves” ~ Aristotle

This is so true, but in the heat of a stressful moment I have to stop and remind myself of this. I am in control of my reaction to the people, events, challenges, and successes before me. I have the ability to see the good in people and situations. I can choose to be happy despite the unhappiness of others. I do not have to let others’ negativity affect me. This was a hard lesson for me to learn as a young leader, but with time and experience and relationships built on trust, I am in a better place with this idea.

CCC licensed work by www.pittillapr.co.uk

CCC licensed work by http://www.pittillapr.co.uk

What I like most about change is that it’s a synonym for ‘hope’.  If you are taking a risk, what you are really saying is, ‘I believe in tomorrow and I will be part of it.‘” ~ Linda Ellerbee

In challenging situations, you can hear many peoples interpretations of synonyms for hope. I like this perspective because it comes from such a positive place. As an organization is embarking on a large initiative that means big changes (i.e. Common Core implementation!), how amazing would it be if all stakeholders jumped on board and said, “I believe in tomorrow and I will be part of it”?  What a powerful, collective statement that could be.

If the person who talks the most learns the most, who is doing the most learning in your classroom [or workshop]?” ~ Anonymous

I can still remember the first time I heard this quote. I was a part-time teacher and a part-time Literacy Coach. The meaning of these words had an instant impact on me both as a teacher and a professional developer. I became acutely aware of how much I was talking instead of my students or participants. I made a dedicated effort to find a better balance in all those situations from then on. I am reminded of this when I visit classrooms and see teachers in our district working hard to find a 50/50 balance between teacher and student talk. I am also reminded of this when I attend certain workshops where the presenter spend the entire time (be it one hour or six!) talking AT us, instead of interacting WITH us.

quote jar

Reflective questions to consider:

  • What is your favorite quote?
  • How do you use quotes to inspire or reflect?

Abecedary of Reflection

About Amy's Reflections

Director of Educational Services in Southern CA, taking time to reflect on leadership and learning
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [Abecedary of Reflection] Quotes

  1. “Never let the problem to be solved become more important than a person to be loved.”– Thomas S. Monson

    Sometimes when I find myself consumed by a ton of random chaos and this quote has helped me to remember to reflect on how I could help the person instead of focusing on the problem. I love the thought of listening, connecting, helping/or guiding someone in their times of struggle verses just allowing a student or staff member to continue on the road of being a problem maker/consumer verses a problem solver and productive member of our school community.

Leave a Reply

