A Year of Mindfulness

mindfulness pic

One year ago I sat down with a friend, and the Unraveling the Year Ahead, by Susannah Conway. It was a journaling activity designed to help you reflect on 2014 and figure out your focus, and your one little word, for 2015.  After my reflecting, mindfulness was the only word I could choose for my focus in 2015. Susannah just released a journal for this year, which made me realize how soon 2015 will be over.

In some ways, it feels like this has been a long year. Yet in other ways, it is as though I blinked too fast and time is flying.

  • One year ago I was in the middle of my dissertation research and about to embark on the hell that was writing chapters four and five.
  • One year ago I had no time for pleasure reading.
  • One year ago I was unsure of where my career would take me next.
  • One year ago my nephews were babies, not toddlers-going on big boys- going on trouble!
  • One year ago my two trouble-making kittens were not even a thought in my mind (or the world yet!).

Callie & Diego

After my journaling and reflecting, I chose mindfulness as my word of 2015. I wanted a word that helped me find balance in my life, learn to slow down (especially at work), and make my health a priority. I wanted a word that captured my professional and personal goals and aspirations for the year to come. Mindfulness became that and so much more to me.

Throughout my journey to be more mindful I:

A visual representation of my year of mindfulness

 

About Amy's Reflections

Director of Educational Services in Southern CA, taking time to reflect on leadership and learning
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A Year of Mindfulness

  1. mo2lyric says:

    Hi Amy! I am a new follower. Love your message today.
    Mo

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Posts of 2015 | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  3. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Friday, Volume 16 | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  4. Pingback: Rejuvenate Update #2 | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  5. Pingback: Core Values | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  6. Pingback: Happy 4th Birthday Reflections! | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  7. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Friday, Volume 18 | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  8. Pingback: How I’m Taking Action | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  9. Pingback: My Word of 2017 | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

  10. Pingback: Things I’m Loving Friday, Volume 20 | Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Leave a Reply

