How is it September already?

It is hard to believe that it is already September. I work in a modified year-round school district and we have already completed five full weeks of school. In another three weeks we will be on our Fall Break. Where has the time gone?!

2013-08-31 19.14.55

Before I blink and see October on my calendar, I wanted to take a moment to STOP and THINK. During the month of August I participated in something called August Break 2013. I had never heard of this until, on August 1, I was reading one of the education blogs I enjoy [this blog by Lisa (@TeachingwithSoul)]. The August Break was created by Susannah Conway and you can read all about it here. Basically, it’s a blog/ picture challenge. The August Break allows you to take a break from writing/ blogging while looking at life a little differently, through a camera lens. You post pictures… one a day or as many as you want throughout the month. I had never done something like this before so I decided to challenge myself and join the break.

During this time I learned a few things that I want to share:

  • Associating pictures with words can take time, effort, reflection, and serious connection-making
  • Posting pictures can be very personal
  • Telling a story through pictures is often as challenging as, if not more so, telling a story through words
  • Readers can closely view just as well as they can closely read (nice learning for primary teachers trying on the concept of close reading for Common Core-related instruction!)
  • Pictures can inspire writers/ writing
  • Sometimes you have to look at something differently to truly see it

I enjoyed participating in this challenge and will continue to post my own personal pictures as part of my future blogs. I may even return to some of those August pictures and turn them into blogs with words…

Image

About Amy's Reflections

Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services in Southern CA, taking time to reflect on leadership and learning
This entry was posted in Reflection, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment